Phones

I hate talking on phones.  It makes it really hard to see the words.  I can’t see any written letters or look at a person’s face or even see images related to the words.  I have to translate the sounds into visible symbols with no help at all.

So, today I was trying to get through the customers service phone line with my bank.  The computer voice part where I had to input my date of birth and so on was okay, but when I got to a real person to check my balance, I drew the unlucky and seemingly ubiquitous triad of a deep voice, a thick but unplaceable accent, and an inability to speak above fifty decibels.  Even though I’d locked myself in a quiet room in a library, I couldn’t understand the guy.  It got to where I had to repeat back my hearing of every thing I thought he had said.  It was three minutes total, maybe, and I felt more exhausted than I did the last time I had to read one of Fowler’s diatribes.

If there is an app that will subtitle phone conversations for people, I will have to get an iPhone.  I just can’t handle for any significant amount of time the auditory processing necessary to function as an American adult, and that’s a problem.

Posted in Insanity, Nerd Stuff
6 comments on “Phones
  1. Hi there this is somewhat of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding knowledge so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  2. cscottfowler says:

    Read your blog! You thought to goad me in when talkng about phones.

    • ChrisCQC says:

      No; I wasn’t trying to “goad” you at all. And frankly, in my opinion you do write horribly despicable things sometimes. It’s kind of hard to read such blatant slander of an entire identity group without wanting to barf all over one’s keyboard. But it’s slightly less emotionally taxing that dealing with one’s bank over the phone–for me, anyway.
      You should be thanking me for citing my sources so well; when I check my stats, since I started the whole dialogue, 70% of clicks off my blog are to yours.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats
  • 2,660 views

Join 280 other followers

Top Clicks
  • None
