Spoon Theory

This reminds me of the other day in class when I had to choose between staying awake and avoiding a panic attack. Couldn’t do both at the same time. I ended up sleeping for half of class.

The Blog of Knitted Fog

spoons

Plagerised from Christine Miserandino

At a restaurant whilst in conversation with a friend about my illness, the spoon theory was born. I quickly grabbed every spoon on the table; hell I grabbed spoons off of the other tables. I looked at her in the eyes and said “Here you go, you have Lupus” (or any energy wasting illness). She looked at me slightly confused, as anyone would when they are being handed a bouquet of spoons.

Most people start the day with unlimited amount of possibilities and energy to do whatever they desire, especially young people. For the most part, they do not need to worry about the effects of their actions. So for my explanation, I used spoons to convey this point. I wanted something for her to actually hold, for me to then take away, since most people who get sick feel a “loss” of a life they…

View original post 1,145 more words

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats
  • 2,639 views

Join 280 other followers

Top Clicks
  • None
